top of page


Main Project and End of Season results

On Tuesday night, Steve Whittaker ARPS returned to the club to discuss our entries for the Main Project, and his feedback was as constructive and thought provoking as always. This season was a close run thing, but Steve finally chose Ian Bain's project entitled Claymore Blacksmiths as his winning project, with Jennifer Moffat's Toys and Games a very close second. Kevin Thomson's New York set and Ben Freeman's Rattray Coastguard Cottages images were 3rd equal.

Claymore Blacksmiths by Ian Bain - 1st Place

Toys and Games by Jennifer Moffat - 2nd Place

New York by Kevin Thomson - 3rd=

Rattray Coastguard Cottages by Ben Freeman - 3rd=

This competition concludes the club competition season, and the final table of results is shown below. Huge congratulations to all the winners, and to everyone who participated. This has, without doubt, been the busiest year in terms of competition entries, with 40 club members entering some of the rounds.

As I mentioned on Tuesday, it would be good if more people engaged in the Main Project next season, as with only 16 submissions it was the smallest entry of the season. No reason not to start thinking about the Main Project for 2021 right now, and plan what you might like to photograph in advance. It really will help you improve your skills to tackle it in this way.

The final matter that requires to be addressed is the Brechin Arts Festival Trophy for the most improved photographer of the year, as decided by the Committee. This year we are delighted to award the trophy to Kevin Thomson.

The final results are therefore as follows: -

  • Dalhousie Trophy: Main Project: Ian Bain

  • South Esk Trophy: Mini-Panel: Hayley-Jane Freeman

  • David Clark Trophy: Division One: Ian Hastie, Haley-Jane Freeman and Ben Freeman

  • Careston Trophy: Division Two: John Griffith

  • Jim Snedden Shield: Division Three: Kevin Thomson and Chris Beattie

  • Brechin Arts Festival Trophy: Most Improved: Kevin Thomson

  • B&W Salver: Monochrome Print of the Year: Anne May

  • Kay's Salver: Colour Print of the Year: Ian Bain

Next season we reduce the competition season to two divisions, and introduce a new trophy for Digital Image of the Year.

Final results table for 2019-20 season.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
bottom of page